World Series of Poker championship

World Series of Poker championship

When it comes to gaming competition, the World Series of Poker Championship is the leader. This is the oldest, most prestigious, largest, and the most media-hyped event of the year. It is a series of poker tournaments.  The venue is Las Vegas and it has been taking place uninterrupted since 1970.  Johnny Moss was elected by his peers as the first World Champion of Poker then.  He received a silver cup as a prize. 

In 2005, it was sponsored by Caesar´s Entertainment. Benny Binion started the event when he invited seven of the best poker players of the time to the Horseshoe Casino for a tournament. Today, the World Series includes a series of 65 tournaments.  The winner of each one of the events receives a World Series of Poker bracelet and a monetary prize. The amount of money awarded depends on the number of entrants and buy-ins. 

Starting with one event in 1970 and since 1973, events have been added and removed to reach the present number. The number of participants has grown over the years resulting in larger monetary prices each year. 

The $10,000 no limit hold’em “Main Event” has been the culminating event since 2004. The winner of this event is considered the World Champion of Poker.  It has become so popular that it attracts thousands of entrants.  The winner receives several million dollars in prize money plus the bracelet. For the 2015 edition, winner Joe McKeehen earned a total $7,683,346.   Besides the monetary prize, the winner of the Main Event has their picture placed in the Gallery of Champions at Binion’s. 

Traditionally, events take place during one day or during several consecutive days in June and July. In 2008, the event was moved to November, except for 2012, when it was moved to October due to presidential elections.